The DOH-EVCHD, through RD Exuperia B. Sabalberino and ARD Rodolfo Antonio M. Albornoz, met with the Local Chief Executives and representatives of the 19 recipient cities and municipalities on November 8. 2022 at the EVCHD grounds, to conduct a simple Deed of Donation signing and turnover of land ambulances.

Specifically, the recipient local health facilities for the land ambulance units were:

Province of Northern Samar

  1. RHU 1 and 2 of Catarman
  2. RHU of Bobon
  3. RHU of Lavezares
  4. RHU of Mapanas
  5. RHU of Victoria

Province of Easter Samar

  1. RHU of Giporlos
  2. RHU 2 of Guiuan
  3. RHU of Quinapondan

Province of Samar

  1. Calbiga COVID Isolation Facility
  2. RHU of Jiabong

Province of Southern Leyte

  1. RHU of Pintuyan
  2. RHU of San Francisco

Province of Leyte

  1. City Health Office of Tacloban
  2. RHU of San Isidro
  3. RHU of Tunga
  4. City Health of Baybay

Province of Biliran

  1. RHU of Biliran
  2. RHU of Caibiran
  3. RHU of Almeria

The 20 land ambulances distributed was only the first batch of the 50 land ambulance units procured by the EVCHD. 23 more ambulances are expected to be distributed to the local government units of region 8 during the 2nd batch, and another 7 units during the 3rd batch.

The land ambulances turned over was the fruits of the DOH Health Facility Enhancement Program’s (HFEP) mandate to support the country’s Universal Health Care developments by providing capital, infrastructure, and equipment to the LGUs. In parallel, this is aligned with the Philippine Health Facility Development Plan (PHFDP) 2020-2040 to provide access to quality healthcare and address the need for medical transport equipment. The procurement of the 50 land ambulances is a landmark accomplishment of the region as these are core to the Health Care Provider Network’s (HCPN) delivery of appropriate and timely health intervention to patients needing a higher level of care.